Game 9 will be streamed on Twitch at 20:00 GMT, Monday 17th July 

Time to see how the other half lives: Chris and I are swapping our usual factions, and it’ll be the first time I’ve put imperial units onto the battlefield.

I decided I wanted to build a fleet that would prefer to act second, and would be bidding for it.

Assault Objective: Most Wanted 

Defense Objective: Hyperspace Assault 

Navigation Objective: Superior Positions

Like many of the Assault Objectives, Most Wanted is basically impossible for most opponents to pick (unless they’re playing something really weird like a 7 corvette list), who will have to pick between the remaining two options. Demolisher should be an unholy terror popping out of a Hyperspace Assault, whilst a solid fighter wing coordinated by the empire’s number 1 waifu Rae Sloane would ensure superior positions will be capable of generating an avalanche of victory tokens.

Vader hanging around Sloane like a big creep…again

Carrier Command

Faction: Galactic Empire
Points: 395/400

Commander: Admiral Sloane

[ flagship ] Quasar Fire I-class Cruiser-Carrier (54 points)
–  Admiral Sloane  ( 24  points)
–  Admiral Titus  ( 2  points)
–  Disposable Capacitors  ( 3  points)
83 total ship cost

Raider-I Class Corvette (44 points)
–  External Racks  ( 3  points) 
47 total ship cost

Raider-I Class Corvette (44 points)
–  External Racks  ( 3  points) 
47 total ship cost

Gladiator I-Class Star Destroyer (56 points)
–  Demolisher  ( 10  points) 
–  Ordnance Experts  ( 4  points) 
–  Assault Proton Torpedoes  ( 5  points) 
75 total ship cost

Gozanti-class Cruisers (23 points)
23 total ship cost

The plan is for one of my objectives will give me a positional advantage, and to use this extremely mobile force up a flank and “roll up” the rebel fleet one ship at a time. As a whole, the fleet sacrifices range for the brutal up-close punch of massed black dice, but I believe corvettes will prove hard to harm at long range, and in the past have proved sufficiently resilient to get their shots off at short range. The external racks on my raiders make them capable of a devastating alpha strike.

I realise the corvettes are an unusual choice, but I wanted to get the Quasar in, so I can dominate in squadrons by activating a huge 6 squadrons early in the turn. I also wanted to have 5 activations, to reduce the chances the rebels would get to last/first strike me with a ship. To do both of these and still actually have some dice on my ships meant a well kitted out Victory was prohibitive, and I didn’t like the chances of a bargain basement Victory-1 trying to close with the enemy, so corvettes it was.

1 “Howlrunner” ( 16 points) 
4 TIE Fighter Squadrons ( 32 points) 
1 TIE Defender Squadron ( 16 points) 
1 “Mauler” Mithel ( 15 points) 
1 Soontir Fel ( 18 points) 
2 TIE Bomber Squadrons ( 18 points)

The fighter package leans heavily on Aces to generate extra damage through the various synergies on their special abilities. I expect it to be able to blow through anything that isn’t a huge X/A wing contingent, and even then good positioning might let me cripple them in the initial engagement.

 

No shields, all guts

The bombers don’t get much of a boost off Sloane, but they are a very efficient chunk of firepower and should go well either with the Gladiator in Hyperspace, or being directed by Gozanti. Maybe I can get the rebels to split their fighter ball to chase them down.

Rae is not impressed by your B-wing shenanigans

 

