7B92DAFF-EDF8-4CFC-9021-6D700D926C7B-24910-000015EE9BF736EE

I’ve tried the TIE swarm before and it didn’t go too well, mostly thanks to some appalling dice – 12 rolls and only one hit if I remember right. Using dice introduces a necessary element of luck into wargames and the best laid plans can fall foul of an abysmal set of rolls.
Part of building a force is identifying those risks and minimizing them, which is what this list aims to do.

The Squadrons
This fleet all about the squadrons and making sure they can perform. Colonel Jendon is a good choice as he gives two strong advantages via his unique ability and the Lambda shuttles Relay. swm24-colonel-jendon
Maarek Steele worked well with Jendon last time I used them together but the emphasis is clearly in the TIE swarm, with Howlrunner leading the charge (or, more accurately, lurking at the back)

1 Colonel Jendon ( 20 points)
1 “Howlrunner” ( 16 points)
8 TIE Fighter Squadrons ( 64 points)
1 Maarek Steele ( 21 points)

The Carriers
It’s my turn to try out the Quasar Fire this time and I’ve loaded it up with some pretty obvious upgrades.
Bumping it’s Squadron value to 5 means it can activate half my squadrons by itself. The Stronghold title gives an excellent protection ‘bubble’ which will make my fighters immune to a great deal of AA fire from enemy capital ships, hopefully allowing them to attack with impunity.
The Flight Controllers, when coupled with Howlrunner, grant my humble TIE Fighters 5 blue dice against enemy squadrons. Throw in the re-rolls from Swarm and Admiral Sloane and suddenly they look very capable of taking down X-Wings in one shot.
swm26-stronghold
Quasar Fire I-class Cruiser-Carrier (54 points)

–  Stronghold  ( 5  points)
–  Flight Controllers  ( 6  points)
–  Expanded Hangar Bay  ( 5  points)
= 70 total ship cost

 

Damage dealing is going to be an issue so I needed something with big guns, my old friend the ISD being the obvious pick. The ISD-I looses a bit of range but adds black dice which I’m hoping will come in useful as I plan on getting stuck in. Captain Needa will swap out the Contain token for a more useful Evade and I’ll take advantage of that by adding TRCs – this is a fleet that’s going to pick away at the enemy one hit at a time rather than dealing a knock out blow after all.
Combining the Avenger title with Boarding Troopers seems an obvious fit especially as Sloane will also allow my squadrons to knock off enemy defence tokens, so the Avenger should get to use its ability more than just once.

Imperial I-Class Star Destroyer (110 points)
–  Admiral Sloane  ( 24  points)
–  Avenger  ( 5  points)
–  Captain Needa  ( 2  points)
–  Boarding Troopers  ( 3  points)
–  Turbolaser Reroute Circuits  ( 7  points)
= 151 total ship cost

The Support
I’ve made a conscious choice to forgo the fifth activation in this fleet so my remaining points go on two flotillas very much focused on supporting my big ships with a Comms Net and Repair Crew. Plus, if needed, they can take advantage of the Lambda shuttle to activate squadrons while staying out of harms way.

Gozanti-class Cruisers (23 points)
–  Comms Net  ( 2  points)
= 25 total ship cost
Gozanti-class Cruisers (23 points)
–  Repair Crews  ( 4  points)
= 27 total ship cost

 

The Missions
I’m expecting the Rebels to be going for 5 activations compared to my 4 which means I would really like to go first. I’ve held points back in order to make a decent initiative bid and have chosen missions on that assumption. Fighter Ambush and Navigational Hazards favour my squadron-heavy fleet and Advanced Gunnery will give me more bang from my limited capital ships.


Faction: Galactic Empire
Points: 394/400

Commander: Admiral Sloane

Assault Objective: Advanced Gunnery
Defense Objective: Fighter Ambush
Navigation Objective: Navigational Hazards

[ flagship ] Imperial I-Class Star Destroyer (110 points)
–  Admiral Sloane  ( 24  points)
–  Avenger  ( 5  points)
–  Captain Needa  ( 2  points)
–  Boarding Troopers  ( 3  points)
–  Turbolaser Reroute Circuits  ( 7  points)
= 151 total ship cost

Quasar Fire I-class Cruiser-Carrier (54 points)
–  Stronghold  ( 5  points)
–  Flight Controllers  ( 6  points)
–  Expanded Hangar Bay  ( 5  points)
= 70 total ship cost

Gozanti-class Cruisers (23 points)
–  Comms Net  ( 2  points)
= 25 total ship cost

Gozanti-class Cruisers (23 points)
–  Repair Crews  ( 4  points)
= 27 total ship cost

1 Colonel Jendon ( 20 points)
1 “Howlrunner” ( 16 points)
8 TIE Fighter Squadrons ( 64 points)
1 Maarek Steele ( 21 points)

 

